- Pricing Tier: All
- Appointment Version: Single & Multiple
Depending on your account's configuration, it is possible for duplicate Customer profiles to be created in the system. If a Customer has already registered, but they create a new account when scheduling a second time, you will see them listed twice in your account. Or, if a Customer has already registered and they are added again when an Appointment is scheduled in Site Administration, you will end up with a duplicate Customer. You can prevent this by enforcing unique email addresses for Customer profiles.
If you end up with true duplicates, you may use the Merge Customers tool to remove the duplicate entries and merge all information into a single profile. This includes Appointment history for the multiple entries.
NOTE: Customer profiles may only be merged if the Last Names of the possible duplicates match. If they do not match, you will see an error message that informs you that the Customer profiles cannot be merged. We recommend checking the last name field of each Customer record to make sure they match exactly before starting a merge.
How to Merge Duplicates
1. Select the Customers tab at the top of Site Administration, then select the Merge Customers link.
2. Select a Customer from the drop-down list, then select the Find Versions button.
3. The system will then list the possible different versions of the Customer in question, based on when the profiles were created. The most recent profile created will always show at the bottom of the list. Check any of the profiles that should be merged; Any unselected profiles will not be merged into the final result. Click to Merge the selected records into one Customer profile.
NOTE: Individual Customer profiles can be merged via the drop-down menu, however, it is not currently possible to merge multiple Customer profiles at one time.
FAQs for Merging Customers
What happens to Customer information when records are merged?
When the duplicate profiles are merged, the system will never delete data that has only been entered for a single profile. When Customer profiles containing different information in the same fields are merged, the information will be updated based on the newest Customer profile (based on the created date). This rule applies to all Customer-level fields available in the Customer Fields/Terms section of Site Administration, as well as the SMS Message settings.
For example, John Smith #1 adds “Apple” to the Company field when creating an Appointment. John Smith then creates a new profile and adds “Google” to the Company field. When the two John Smith profiles are merged in Site Administration, the Company field will read “Google.”
NOTE: Appointment & Customer notes will never be deleted from the system when merging Customers. All Appointment and Customer notes will be merged into a single profile when Customers are merged.
What happens to Credit Card information when profiles are merged?
Why is my merge customer list populating with so many customers?
The merge customer functionality looks for an EXACT match in the following fields:
- Last Name
- Daytime Phone
If a match is found, the system will add the Customer information to the Merge Customer list. To prevent miscellaneous entries on the list, make sure these fields contain valid information.