- LAST UPDATED: 9/1/2015
PRICING TIER: All
APPOINTMENT VERSION: Single & Multiple
It is common for duplicates of a Customer to appear in the system when allowing customers register themselves. If a customer has already registered but they create a new account when scheduling a second time, you will see them listed twice in your account. Or, if a customer has already registered and they are added again when an appointment is scheduled in Site Administration, you will end up with a duplicate customer.
NOTE: If you see the error message: “customer cannot be merged” it is most likely because the Last name of the customer records you are trying to merge do not match. We recommend checking the Last name field of each customer record to make sure they match exactly.
How to merge duplicates
1. Select the Customers tab at the top of Site Administration, then select the Merge Customers link.
2. Select a Customer from the drop down list, then select the Find Versions button.
3. The system will then list the different versions of the customer based on when the profiles were created. The most recent profile created will always show at the bottom of the list. If there are any versions listed that should not be merged, unclick the checkbox next to them. Click on the Merge button to merge them to one customer.
NOTE: Individual customer profiles can be merged via the drop-down menu, however, it is not currently possible to merge multiple customer profiles at one time.
What happens to customer information when records are merged?
When the duplicate profiles are merged, the system will never delete data that has only been entered for a single profile. When customer profiles containing different information in the same fields are merged, the information will be updated based on what customer profile was created last. This rule applies to all customer level fields available in the Customer Fields/Terms section of Site Administration, as well as the Text Message settings.
For example, John Smith #1 adds “Apple” to the Company field when creating an appointment. John Smith then creates a new profile and adds “Google” to the Company field. When the two John Smith profiles are merged in Site Administration, the Company field will read “Google”.
NOTE: Appointment & Customers notes will never be deleted from the system when merging customers. All appointment and customer notes will be merged into a single profile when customers are merged.