PRICING TIER: All
APPOINTMENT VERSION: Single & Multiple
The "Customers" tab is used to add, view, edit, and delete customer profiles and provides you with a complete database of your customers. This allows you to maintain contact information, appointment history, customer notes, payment history (if applicable), and other important information you may need maintain about your customers.
Searching for a Customer
To search for a customer, click on the Customers tab. When you do that, the Customer Search page is displayed. From this page, a search can be performed on a number of criteria:
- Alphabetically: By clicking on a letter, all clients begining with that letter will be displayed. Note that if you have multiple locations, the alphabet search will only apply to the location you are viewing.
- List all: The list all link will list all customer alphabetically. If you have over 300 customers, this link will not display.
- Fields: The listed fields can also be used to search for customers that fall into those areas. Partial text searches can be done on all fields. For example, if you were searching for a customer with the last name "smith", you could type in "smi" into the Last Name search field. The results will show all customers that have "smi" in their last name.
NOTE:When the customer search page is viewed, the default search field is the "Last Name". However, you can use the "search by" drop down menu to search by phone number, account number, other fields, or even across all fields in the menu list.
Adding a New Customer
A new customer is added by clicking on the Add New Customer link in the left margin. The customers information is entered into the displayed fields. This is where a new customer would be entered into the system without making an appointment for them. Customers can also be added at the same time an appointment is made for them. Bold fields are required and normal text fields are optional. The ability to make fields required or optional, as well as hiding fields and creating new fields is done in the Customer Fields/Terms section of Preferences located in the settings section. This is explained in more detail below.
Customers are also added to the system when they register on the customer view.
The Merge Customers link on the left of the page is used to merge duplicate customers. You can search for customers that you believe have duplicate accounts. Once you have selected a customer and hit the find versions link a list of possible duplicate acounts will be displayed. By selecting the duplicates the customer's accounts will be merged into one without any information being lost. When the system merges the duplicate accounts, it keeps the most current information. So, if one account for John Smith has a an address of "123 Main Street" and a newer account for John Smith has an address of "333 Maple Drive", the more current address is the one the system will save when it merges the accounts into one account.
To delete a customer's profile, use the search options to locate the appropriate customer profile. The far right column will have a delete link. Click on the delete link and confirm ok to eliminate the profile from the system. Note that when you delete a customer, it deletes their entire appointment history, so be very careful when deleting customers.
Changing Customer Information
Customer information can be changed by searching for and clicking on the customer's name. This will pull up all of the fields for this customer. Changes can be made and then updated at the bottom of the screen.